Coaching Awards


MBCA - Missouri_No Fill



Richard Fairchild Coach of the Year award

The Missouri Basketball Coaches Association (MBCA) annually honors the Richard Fairchild Coaches of the Year. These individuals represent the Associations outstanding coaches in each of the MSHSAA five classifications. The award is named to honor Richard Fairchild, a 1990 MBCA Hall of Fame selection who coached 28 years, winning 463 games, a state title, and making 5 appearances at the Show-Me Showdown.


Ryan Shaw National HS Basketball Coaches Assoc. Coach of the Year

Since 2011, the National High School Basketball Coaches association honors coaches for service to their state and efforts toward upholding the MBCA mission, "to promote basketball in Missouri". 

In 2017, the award was renamed to honor longtime MBCA board member Ryan Shaw.  Promoting basketball was a passion for Coach Shaw, his first elementary camp had five athletes show up, and four years later his elementary camp had over 100 athletes. Coach Shaw was involved in the MBCA for nearly two decades serving as Vice President, President, and Past President.  He encouraged many of the board members to get involved and expanded participation during his tenure.  He was also a huge contributor to expanding the MBCA clinic in the fall and instigating and developing the Missouri Challenge Event. Coach Shaw left behind a legacy of passion for basketball. His players and coaches that worked with him will always be inspired by his energy for basketball and life.


2022 Winners

Boys:  Tony Irons, Vashon  

Girls:  Jay Allen, Otterville 


Kevin "Cub" Martin Assistant Coach of the Year

This award was named to honor longtime Nixa Basketball Assistant Coach Kevin "Cub" Martin.  A lifelong Nixa resident, Martin helped lead the Eagles to the 1978 Class 2 Missouri State Championship.  He worked as a volunteer assistant while attending college and was hired in 1992 to coach the Nixa Junior High teams.

He became Coach Jay Osborne’s top assistant in 1993, where he served until his passing in 2004.  The Eagles won the 1999 Class 3 State Championship, placed 3rd in the 2002 Class 3 Final Four, and won District Titles in 1994 and 1998 with Coach Martin.  His loyalty to Nixa High School and the Nixa community was never in question and proudly displayed.

Kevin was sincere, unselfish, and just a great man.  He left a permanent impact on all of those who met him.  The MBCA adopted this award in 2005 and recognizes assistant coaches throughout the state of Missouri each season.

Past winners by year include: 

2005 Andrea Salmon - Jefferson City
  Rich Rogers  -  Parkway West
2006 Gail Jones   -  Jefferson City
2008 Bill Kimminau  -  Borgia
2009 Scott Stallcup  -  Webster Groves
2010 Charlie Walsh  -   Vianney
2011 Mary Arnold    -   Branson
2012 Steve Meyers   -  Platte County
2013 Bob Goessling  -  St. Joseph's Academy
2014 Brock Blansit   -  Nixa
2015 Brian James   -   Sikeston
  Courtney Haskell - Hickman
2016 Derek Hoffman  -   Marquette
2017 Terry Cochran  - Vianney
2018 Armeake Estes  - Kirkwood
2019 Joe Poor   -  Branson
2020 Mike Shanfeld  - Parkway South
2021 John Robinson - Ste. Genevieve
2022 Brad Sutterer - Kirkwood (Girls)
  Rob James - Liberty North (Boys)
2023 Nate Robison, Lawson
Nomination Form

MBCA - Missouri_No Fill



John Wooden Legacy Award (Inaugural Year) 

The John Wooden Legacy Award is given by the National High School Basketball Coaches Association (NHSBCA) to a coach that is either active, retired, or it may be awarded posthumously.  The coach must demonstrate excellence on the court, in the classroom and in the community.  The coach was/is an Educator (Teacher, Paraprofessional, Administrator, Athletic Director, or other school personnel).  The coach should also continue to give back to the game of basketball and embody the characteristics of John Wooden. 


The NHSBCA has selected as the Missouri winners of the John Wooden Legacy Award: 


Girls: Cori Elms
Boys: Denny Hunt


Girls: Jeni Hopkins 

Boys: Jay Blossom 




2022 MBCA Coaches of the Year

Boys & Girls Class 1 - 6 Richard Fairchild Coaches of the Year



CLASS 1 Dusty Dinkins, South Iron 

CLASS 2 Shane Chadwell, Norwood 

CLASS 3 Jamarcus Williams, Charleston 

CLASS 4 Tony Irons, Vashon 

CLASS 5 Justin Mathes, Webster Groves

CLASS 6 Justin Tatum, Christian Brothers College



CLASS 1 Tyler Pederson, South Nodaway/Jefferson Conception (Platte Valley) 

CLASS 2 Andy Hampton, Wellington-Napoleon  

CLASS 3 Beau Swopes, Eldorado Springs

CLASS 4 Jacob Yorg, John Burroughs 

CLASS 5 Scott Womack, West Plains 

CLASS 6 Dan Rolfes, Incarnate Word Academy 

2020 Coaches of Year Recognition

Boys and Girls Class 1-5 Richard Fairchild Coaches of the Year


CLASS 1 Rick Luna (Dora)

CLASS 2 Brett Reed (Hartville)

CLASS 3 Ryan Johnson (Cardinal Ritter) and Danny Farmer (Charleston)

CLASS 4 Joe Rothweiler (Helias), Joe Unterreiner (Cape Girardeau Notre Dame), Tony Irons (Vashon), and Aaron Ihms (Raytown South)

CLASS 5 Justin Tatum (CBC), Chris Neff (Staley), Frank Bennett (Chaminade), and Mitch McHenry (Kickapoo)


CLASS 1 Rory Henry (Walnut Grove)

CLASS 2 Cori Elms (East Buchanan)

CLASS 3 Dustin Larsen (Strafford)

CLASS 4 Brad Shorter (Carl Junction), Kirk Boeller (Cape Girardeau Notre Dame), Dan Rolfes (Incarnate Word Academy), and Jeff Atkins (Lincoln Prep Academy)

CLASS 5 Chantell Polk (Hazelwood Central), Monica Tritz (Kirkwood), Mark Spigarelli (Blue Springs), and Jill Nagel (Rock Bridge)



Coach of the Year Award Winners

Bryce Kemper

Bryce Kemper

Matt Thomas_Ryan Shaw Award

Matt Thomas

Trevyor Fisher_Ryan Shaw Award

Trevyor Fisher

Jason Merkel_Ryan Shaw Award

Jason Merkel

Brett Goodwinl_Ryan Shaw Award

Brett Goodwin

Jay Blossom

Jay Blossom

Aaron Ihm

Aaron Ihm

Monica Tritz

Monica Tritz

Rod Elms

Rod Elms

Derek Petty

Derek Petty

Pete McBride

Pete McBride



Richard Fairchild Coach of the year Award Winners

Class 4 Coach of Year Altonio Irons

Altonio Irons

Class 4
Class 5 Coach of the Year Monica Tritz

Monica Tritz

Class 5
Class 3 Coach of the Year Steve Frank

Steve Frank

Class 3
Class 4 Coach of the Year Dan Rolfes

Dan Rolfes

Class 4
Class 2 Coach of the Year Kevin Cheek

Kevin Cheek

Class 2
Class 2 Coach of the Year Joe Shoemaker

Joe Shoemaker

Class 2
Class 1 Coach of the Year Dan Owens

Dan Owens

Class 1
Class 1 Coach of the Year Del Morley

Del Morley

Class 1


Richard Fairchild Coach of the year Award Winners



Richard Fairchild Coach of the year Award Winners



Richard Fairchild Coach of the year Award Winners