4 min read

2013 MBCA Hall of Fame Inductees

Apr 27, 2013 11:00:00 AM

The Missouri Basketball Coaches Association inducted the Hall of Fame class of 2013 as part of a banquet and induction ceremony at the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame in Springfield, MO on Saturday, April 27, 2013.

Coaches and contributors inducted this year include:

Mike Davis – Columbia College

Coach Davis has amassed a career coaching record of 550 wins with only 276 losses at Central Methodist University and Columbia College. He currently has the 3rd most wins among active NAIA coaches in the nation. The 7 time conference coach of the year has coached 26 All-Americans, 18 scholar Athletes, and 8 Conference Players of the Year. Coach Davis’ teams have won 10 conference championships and made 14 NAIA National Tournament appearances along with 5 Sweet Sixteens, 1 Elite 8, and 1 Final Four.

Rod Gorman – Logan-Rogersville

Coach Gorman has a 507-221 record in 26 years at Bourbon, Festus, Cape Central, and for the last 17 years at Logan-Rogersville. He has fourteen 20 win seasons, 11 conference championships, 13 district championships, and his team has played in the district championship game an unbelievable 22 times in his 26 years. Coach Gorman’s 1991 Festus Tigers team won the 3A State Championship.

Steve Jenkins – Evangel University

Coach Jenkins has spent all 31 years of his coaching career at Evangel. In that time he has compiled 587 wins vs. 404 losses. He has been awarded the HAAC Coach of the year 6 times. In 2002, Coach Jenkins was the NAIA D-II National Coach of the Year, as his Crusaders stormed to the NAIA National Championship. His teams have made 11 National Tournament appearances and have 8 consecutive 20 win seasons.

Kevin Kelley – St. Joe Central

Coach Kelley has a career coaching record of 515-277. His teams have won 9 conference championships, 10 district championships, and have been to 5 final fours. His 1984 Troy, KS team completed a perfect 25-0 season with the 2A state championship.  While at Savannah High School, Coach Kelley was awarded the Missouri Class 3A Coach of the Year award in 1999.

Mike Keltner – Glendale

In 15 years at Glendale High School in Springfield, Coach Keltner averaged 20 wins per season for a career record of 311-131. His teams won 8 Ozark Conference Championships, 7 District Championships, and competed in the 1986 and 1990 Final Fours. Coach Keltner was the 9 time Springfield Tip-Off Coach of the Year and was a founding member of the Missouri Basketball Coaches Association.

Ken Libby – Mehlville, Christian Brothers University, Lindbergh, STLCC

Coach Libby has a career record of 548-405. He is a the former President of the Missouri Basketball Coaches Association and has been a member of the MBCA Board for over 20 years. Coach Libby’s teams have won 3 district championships, and finished 3rd in the nation twice and 7th in the nation once as a junior college coach. In 1987, Coach Libby was the National Catholic College Coach of the Year.


Joe McCraith – Hillsboro

Joe McCraith began working as the scorekeeper for Hillsboro High School Coach and MBCA Hall of Famer Gene Steighorst 35 years ago.  5 years later, Joe began keeping the scorebook at Jefferson College. All told he has been on the sidelines for nearly 1500 games in Jefferson County and is still going strong and enjoying every moment.

Mark Nusbaum – O’Hara, Liberty, Rockhurst

Fresh off a 2013 Class 5 State Title , the Missouri Coach of the Year Award, and the announcement of his retirement, Coach Nusbaum has had a busy Spring. His teams have compiled a career record of 569 wins and 278 losses. He has won State Championships in 1998 at Liberty and again this season at Rockhurst. His teams have won 6 conference titles and 11 district titles. Coach Nusbaum has guided his team to the Missouri Final Four 6 times.

Jeff Walk – Twin Rivers, Three Rivers Community College

Coach Walk has a career record of 442-256 at Twin Rivers High School and Three Rivers College. His teams won 5 OFC Conference titles, 9 District Titles and Coach Walk was the OFC Coach of the Year 5 times as well as twice being named the SEMO Coach of the Year. At Three Rivers, Coach Walk has won 2 MCCAC Conference Championships and has been the MCCAC Coach of the Year twice.

Randall White – Scott City, Delta

Coach White owns an overall coaching record of 467-231. He was the 11 time conference coach of the year,6 time region coach of the year, and in 2008 he was the MBCA Coach of the Year. His teams won 6 conference championships and 12 District Championships. His teams competed in the 2003, 2006, and 2008 Final fours.

Kenny Wyatt – Brunswick, Bucklin, Marceline, Salisbury

During the course of his 26 year career, Coach Wyatt owns a record of 519-200, including the 2013 Class 2 State Championship. His teams have won their conference championship an amazing 17 times in his 26 years. They have won 10 district titles and competed in 3 Final Fours. Coach Wyatt was the MBCA Coach of the Year in 2012 and 2013 and has won 15 other coach of the year awards.